Pearse museum and St. enda´s park
The Pearse Museum and St Enda’s Park is where the leader of the 1916 Rising, Patrick Pearse, lived
The Hermitage’ was originally built by Edward Hudson, State Dentist, who signed a lease on the lands in 1786. Over a century later, Patrick Pearse discovered the house while on a historical pilgrimage of sites associated with Robert Emmet. Set in nearly fifty acres of beautiful parkland, the museum tells the story of Patrick Pearse and his brother William, both of whom were executed for their part in the 1916 Rising.and ran his innovative Irish-speaking school from 1910 to 1916.
Set in nearly fifty acres of beautiful parkland, the museum tells the story of Patrick and his brother William, both of whom were executed for their part in the 1916 Rising. Visitors can view a fascinating exhibition on Pearse's life and wander through the historic rooms where he and his family once lived and worked. The romantic landscape which surrounds the museum contains a wild river valley, forested areas and some enchanting 18th and 19th century follies. Information about the wildlife which inhabits the park is available in a dedicated Nature Study Room in the courtyard where the Schoolroom Café is also located.